Conference Recap‏

Scripture of the week:  3 Nephi 18: 19-20  “Therefore ye must always pray unto the Father in my name; And whatsoever ye shall ask the father in my name, which is right, believing that ye shall receive, behold it shall be given unto you.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Holy guacamole was General Conference the BEST or what???  http://www.mormonnewsroom.org/    https://www.lds.org/
I had the blessing and opportunity of watching it in English and I felt like there were so many things said that have helped me boost my energies for the work here.
Sorry if my writing is awkward by the way, there are a lot of expressions that I’m used to using that don’t exactly translate back into English…
But anyway I was SOOOOO glad to get the opportunity to watch it in my own language.  I am more grateful than ever to have a living prophet in this day, and to be able to hear his words a million miles away in this country.  I always tell my investigators that hearing the words of the prophet is like modern scriptures, modern scripture stories.  It was a MIRACLE — FIVE of our investigators showed up to the conference, and at least 3 less active members.  Before this week, we’ve only had about 3 attendances and it’s been really too bad.  Such a miracle.
Some of my favorite notes from conference:

-Being meek does not mean weakness, but rather self control.

-Only those who are humble can recognize God’s answers in their prayers.  The Spirit is still and small and doesn’t conform to your will, but the will of Heavenly Father.
-First doubt your doubts before you doubt your faith
-”Draw near unto me and I shall draw near unto you”
-Opposition in all things is not a flaw in the Plan of Happiness, it develops us
-Allow yourself to be made whole in the grace of the Savior, then bring others to Him for the same purpose
-NEVER LOSE FAITH IN HEAVENLY FATHER.  God’s love is there for you regardless of if you’re worthy or not.  It’s always there.  It never changes.  Believe in miracles.  Hope is never lost.  Remember the Savior’s own example: if the bitter cup does not pass, drink it, and be strong.
-Charity. Never. Faileth.
-We are not doing anything unrealistic by sharing our testimonies.
-It’s impossible for us to fail when we do our best, when we are on the Lord’s errand.
-”Today the voice of the Good Shephard is your voice and my voice.” (on missionary work)
-Accepting and magnifying calls to serve in the church is one of the best things you can do to bless your family
-Laws of the land cannot make moral what He has defined immoral
-Courage: to live with dignity
-Conversion is a process, not an event.  No one can be converted for you, and no one can force you to be converted.
-We have to keep our testimonies in shape just like we have to keep our bodies in shape.
-One of the parts of repentence is to bear the long and short-term consequences of sin.
-The submission of the fathers of the sons of Helaman (in the Book of Mormon) did more to protect their families than anything else they could have done on the battlefield
-”Repentance is not punishment, but the hope-filled path to a more glorious future.”
-”Good timber does not grow with ease.”
The companionship of the Holy Ghost is not just a pleasant experience;  it’s essential to Spiritual survival Self mastery means reason over appetite
-The doctrine of the Lord is not ours to change
Yeah sorry that’s maybe a lot but there were SO MANY THINGS that I took from this conference.  Manna from heaven, I swear.
Remember the member of the Seventy who spoke yesterday?  Last name of Valenzuela?  He said that he had visited the Mexico City MTC—-I was there for that devotional!!! :) So cool.  I hope you guys all saw the video on the CCM in between sessions.
Other stuff I’ve wanted to say — it’s true that in some of our mission rules, there are foods that we can’t eat here for sanitation reasons.  Unfortunately, we can’t eat ceviche, which is the national food of Peru.  It’s raw fish, and a ton of it.  Many gringos get sick from it here though so that’s why it’s been nixed.  We’re also counseled to avoid berries, lettuce, pork in all forms, and any fruit that doesn’t have a peel – again for sanitation reasons.  Shame :/
Everyday we study so much to be able answer questions of our investigators.  We have had SO many deep questions this week from them.  Questions are good though because the restoration of the gospel was all started with a boy who had a question!  I know that through prayer and meditation of the scriptures we can answer every question of the soul.  I wish I had about 2 more hours for personal study.  The days fly by because we’re always running (sometimes literally) between appointments and lunches and all sorts of stuff.  We are SO busy and it’s great!  I know that the more I put in right now, the more I’ll get out of it.  Today is the day to work hard.  Right now, the area of Jesus Maria is my focus.
I’ve been trying to convert all of my study into Spanish. I want to only use my Spanish scriptures and Spanish study materials.  To say that it’s a leap of faith is a great understatement.  I feel so alone when I don’t have my trusty English scriptures with me at lessons, especially when a ton is weighing on each lesson.  But I know that the more I put my trust in the Lord (and work my hardest), He will help me and make up the difference.  I am no where near being fluent in the language but I always seem to understand and be able to convey the things that are most important.  Miracles exist.
We had a miracle this week with one of our investigators — this man is EXACTLY like the man in “The District” videos who is really spiritual (practically a golden investigator), super into Christian music, wants to know the will of God, has been baptized but wants to know if his baptism was ”legitimate.”  Hna. Suqui and I were super nervous to teach him about Priesthood Authority because we were worried it would turn out exactly the same as it did in “The District” — poorly, to say the least.  But through the mercy of Heavenly Father, somehow the Spirit was able to convey to him the need for a new baptism with proper authority.  He told us that not only does he understand the Priesthood authority now, but he thinks that it’s amazing and so powerful, and now he has a testimony of Joseph Smith too!  A tender mercy for us.  He rejected a baptismal date because he doesn’t want to feel pressured to ”be ready” but he will be baptized when that day comes.  I have faith that it will be soon.  This man (Cesar) has so much faith and hope in God, and also a desire to study often in the Book of Mormon, that he will receive a confirmation from The Spirit soon.  We will keep working with him.  Also, I think we will have our first baptism this week!!!  It technically was supposed to be last Saturday but some things came up and it had to be pushed back a week.  More details on that next week.
I love you all so much! You are all an inspiration to me. Keep choosing the right!!!!
Hna. Hollberg
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The black corn is called "chicha" and they make a drink out of it. Strange but delicious!

The black corn is called “chicha” and they make a drink out of it. Strange but delicious!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some pictures of the only ''park'' nearby. there aren't really parks here, so much cement. But this is an actual park and it's pretty gorgeous.

Some pictures of the only ”park” nearby. there aren’t really parks here, so much cement. But this is an actual park and it’s pretty gorgeous.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

