RIMAYKULLAYKI! (means hello in Quechua!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

How are you guys all doing ???  How was Halloween?  My Halloween was pretty calm, same old same old.  Halloween is less popular here because trick-or-treating is more dangerous and parents are less inclined to encourage it.  Also because there are a ton of Jehovah’s Witnesses and they don’t believe in Halloween.  But I had a great time and I saw some cute little costumes of mummies and witches and vampires.

 
Summer is almost here!  The sun is out and the mornings are really warm.  For some reason, the climate is such that 3 or 4 o clock in the afternoon is colder than 10 in the morning.  Go figure.  But I’m SO EXCITED!  Summer is the best.

 
Things are going really really well here.  We had another baptism on Saturday and it was really special, really spiritual.  His name is Yordan (Jordan) and he’s 23.  He wants to serve a mission.  We only taught him once at the very start of our mission and then we lost contact with him for a month or two because he was really busy.  When we finally ran into him again, he was like “oh hey, I’m so sorry guys… I feel so bad that I couldn’t meet with you again. But I’m going to be baptized!!”  Haha we were really surprised but we said “Uh, yeah! Of course!!!!  When can we meet next to plan it and to teach you and help you prepare a little more?”  We only had a little bit of time to teach him all of the standard Missionary Lessons but he wanted to be baptized asap before his friend left on her mission so we called the President of the mission and got special permission to go ahead with the baptism before all of the lessons were complete (he had the basics, for sure) because his testimony was so strong and he was like ”YEAH — BAUTIZEME AHORITA.”  (Baptize me right now!)  Yo lo quiero.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Baptisms are so special.  I forgot to mention that the baptismal font in our ward doesn’t have a heater so it’s certainly…. refreshing.  Hahaha.  Man.  But Esther (our first convert together)  told us that when she entered the water to get baptized she only felt the cold in her feet, and when she was fully submersed she felt nothing but heat.  That was so neat.

 
Other news — let´s see… some of the funny stuff that has happened.  Um so this week I got my first marriage proposal.  That was interesting.  Sorry to say that I rejected it.  I won´t be getting married for a while, sorry.  Also, a few more strangers have stopped us in the street and asked for a picture of my hair… Really awkward.  One time, Hermana Suqui said ”Yeah only if you get baptized” as a joke.

 

We were in San Isidro last week because Hermana Suqui had to buy glasses and it was crazzzzy rich.  I literally saw a Starbucks Coffee with a VALET!!  My jaw hit the ground, I couldn´t believe it.  San Isidro is like the Wall Street of Peru; the financial district that is the head for the whole country.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
This week we had this huge fiesta with the ward where everyone made food and brought it, and I made banana pancakes.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
For some reason, it was like a mind blower for everyone here. “Panqueques….. with BANANAS INSIDE….!!”  When the ward members saw the syrup, they didn’t know what it was so Suqui explained it to them: ”It’s a kind of honey that Americans use on pancakes and other breakfast things!”  Oh man, I was dying from smiling.  Little things like that crack me up.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Along with Yordan, we reunited with one of our old investigators.  I think I mentioned her before, Nancy.  She was the one who dreamed about me before.  We ran into her again in the road and she was worried — she asked me immediately ”Are you OK? I had this horrible dream last week where you were sick and in a bed….”  Yeahhh… I totally was sick last week!  Spooky.  Hermana Suqui and I really think that she has the gift of dreams.  She also said to us ”I was walking and walking and I was depressed and I prayed in my heart to find someone to help me and I just ran into you guys!!  It’s been so long when can we meet again?”  Goosebump moment.

The Lord certainly works in mysterious ways though.  By that, I mean that sometimes blessings come in different ways than you’d expect, but they really do come!!  For example, I mentioned a few weeks ago that we’re teaching a young woman in English.  So what happened with her—-we found them by knocking on doors.  We had a bit of time and I needed to practice my Spanish, so Hermana Suqui and I started knocking.  It was my ”turn” when we came to Maria Paula’s house, and I was pretty nervous so we were laughing when Maria Paula’s mom answered the door.  Hna. Suqui explained that I was from the US and that my Spanish was really new, along with that we were representatives from the church.  The mother said that she had a daughter studying English, and she really wanted her to have an opportunity to practice what she’d been doing.  She agreed to let us come and teach every week as long as we did a little bit of it in English too.  She also gave us brownies!  Man, that family’s the best.  Anyway, it was totally a miracle because the mother is literally NEVER home.  She was home that ONE day because she was sick and on a medical break from work.  Anyway, we’ve been teaching them and they’re really the best.  We teach Maria Paula and her grandmother.  Both of them really love the Book of Mormon and they each read it like crazy — Maria Paula one chapter every night before her studies and her grandmother reads it every morning at 4 am!  They’re great examples….

So yeah, things are normal here.  We’re still working like crazy.  I’m embarrassed to admit that the other day as we said our final prayers together for the night I fell asleep!  Hahaha!  Hermana Suqui was giving it and I was listening and listening and thinking about our investigators and…. next thing I know, I hear Hermana Suqui saying ”Hermana…. HERMANA!  Diga Amen!”  Haha, it was pretty great.  I love working hard.  My favorite days are the craziest ones.  The times that we forget ourselves and give it all to serve is the times I feel like I’m thriving.  Once we stop is when we start complaining and feeling sorry for all that we’ve given up to be on the mission.  The mission is what you put into it.

Things are great.  I’m growing every day.  The weeks are FLYING by.  We have the hardest trials here but I’m so thankful to be learning and becoming better.  In the end, the tests don’t matter.  We remember our successes.
Glad to hear all is going well in your end.  Take care, everyone!!!

Hermana Hollberg
Stray kitten we found

Stray kitten we found

 

Hermana Anderson from Kaysville.  She's one of the coolest missionaries ever.

Hermana Anderson from Kaysville… who is one of the coolest missionaries ever!

 

 

 

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

