Can´t believe it´s already the last week until Cambios (transfers) again!

Wow, seriously this transfer has gone by so fast.  Honestly I think every week is faster and faster.  Also harder and harder.  I think every single one of our investigators right now has some form of huge challenge in their life.  I don´t know if I already wrote this but it’s one of those times where you just sit and think ”yeah, I really don´t feel qualified to handle any of these problems.”  Truth is, we aren’t.  But here’s the secret — the Spirit is.  So we keep the Spirit with us at all times, things and places, as much as we can.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This week has been pretty tranquil.  Nothing particularly crazy has happened.  But last p-day, in the evening we had two appointments with investigators and we managed to pick a baptismal date with both of them!!  Their names are Cesar (31) and Girelyn (18).  It was a huge step forward in progress.  Both of them are SO prepared; their testimonies are CRAZY strong in the gospel and they KNOW that the church is true, and that they want to be apart of it.  Cesar absolutely LOVES Joseph Smith.  Girelyn is already thinking about preparing to enter the temple.  We’ve been working with them for weeks, but they’ve just shied away from actually having a baptismal date, for personal reasons.  But…. sweet Girelyn has decided to be baptized either this Saturday or the next, and Cesar on the 23rd!  So proud for them!  They are both really happy.

This week we had an activity with the stake — each ward put together a team of young men and young women, and we had somewhat of a talent show of all of the traditional dances of Peru.  They went ALL OUT.  The costumes were insane.  I got some of them on video but I’ll have to wait until I get back from the mission to show you guys because they’re too big to email :(  It was a tender mercy for me… I swear, every time that I start getting really homesick for my own culture or for the United States, I get a little break like this activity which makes me love the culture here more and more.  Historical Peruvian culture (like from the Sierras and the Selva (jungle)) is rich and really lovely.  But we pretty much never see it because we live in the biggest city in the whole country.  So it’s city life for us, nada más.  But after my mission I want to keep studying some of the history here because it’s really beautiful.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also, I had my first ‘intercambio’ (exchange) with the Sister Training Leaders, Hermana Callister from the US and Hermana Quispe from Boliva (there are a few companionships of sisters who are the leaders of all of the sisters in the mission).  Intercambios last for 24 full hours.  One companion stays in their sector and receives one of the leaders, while the other companion leaves and spends the night with the other leader in her sector.  I left Jesus Maria and bussed it over to good-old Callao.  Callao is the most dangerous and sketchy part of all of Lima, so they don´t have any of the Hermanas serving there except for in one little sector.  It was a pretty different experience.  One time, in the night this crazy guy came up to me and started saying all of these things but I just pretended I didn´t speak Spanish and Hermana Quispe and I ran away and took refuge in a little shop nearby where the Bishop happened to be.  Hermana Quispe is like the sweetest Sister in the whole world and I learned a ton from her.  It was really cool to see how the work of Salvation moves forward in all corners of Lima.

Hermana Quispe

Hermana Quispe

Hermana Suqui and I both had really great experiences in our intercambios, but we were really glad to see each other again.  I really really really really hope that I don’t get changed this cambio.  I don’t want to leave my companion, I don’t want to leave my investigators, I don’t want to leave Jesus Maria….!!  But because I just wrote that, all of those things will probably happen.  Ah but really though, we won’t find out until Saturday if we’re going to be rotating or leaving.  The anticipation is killing me.

Sister Suzuki! (Suqui)

Sister Suzuki! (Suqui)

But yeah.  Stuff is normal.  I love my investigators.  I love receiving your guys’ love and support.  I love reading about how you are all doing.

I¨M SO EXCITED TO HEAR WHEN THE BABIES ARE BORN!  I can´t believe they’re due this week!  You have got to send me so many pictures.

Anyway, I don´t really have any more time.  But I sure love all of you!  Take care!!!  Share the gospel n stuff.

If anyone ever like has candy or a package that’s just laying around in your house and you have nobody to send it to, you know where I’ll be.  I guess I could receive it and take care of it for you.  Maybe.  I’m not going anywhere for a long while.

haha

Love you all,
Hermana Hollberg

The sun is coming out!

The sun is coming out!

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

