Good week and an End‏

So we’ve reached the end of my second transfer here in the mission.  It’s been really hard, but really rewarding.  Today Hermana Suqui and I are pretty sad though because last night we got a call from our Zone Leaders… I’m going to stay here in Jesus Maria for the next 6 weeks, but Hermana Suqui has a change.  We don’t know where she’s going, or who we’ll have as companions but we know that she’s leaving the area.  Which means that today is our last day together and we won’t see each other for another 6 weeks until the next Cambio (transfer) meeting at the end of the transfer.  I’d be lying if I said that I’m not extremely nervous and anxious to see who my next companion will be.  Hermana Suqui and I have such an understanding between us, and I’m sad to see that leave.  It’s going to be so weird being in the same house and in the same Sector with the same investigators, but having a different companion.  I can’t imagine the mission without Suqui—-Given that she’s been the only companion that I’ve had.  But I know that I’m really going to miss her.  It’s really hard to see these times go.  We really didn’t think we were going to be changing but we just have to put our lives in the Lord’s hands and trust that he’s going to move us around and test us in the ways that will help us grow the very most.  So yeah, I’ll let you know next week who my companion is and stuff I guess!!  We’ll find out tomorrow.

SAM_4558

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

SAM_4486

Our hands make an Oreo cookie!  Ha ha we love it!

Our hands make an Oreo cookie! Ha ha we love it!

This week we got to go to the temple!!!  Finally!  The temple here is so much more beautiful in real life than in pictures.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Going to the Temple

Going to the Temple

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There are a lot of street vendors outside who know what us Mormons like, so I got to buy some cool handmade ties, scripture cases, DVDs of LDS videos and Mormon Messages… It was awesome.  The temple session itself was like a breath of fresh air.  It was probably one of the most spiritual times I’ve ever had in the temple.  In my life, probably!  At the end of the session, the Spirit was so strong that it was almost tactile in the air.  I found some answers to some of my fears and doubts in those moments.   Originally we were supposed to go to the temple 4 weeks ago but we had to cancel our trip because of some fluke problems that came up in transit, and I was really disappointed but I feel like now it was such a blessing because it was so amazing.

Our investigator Cesar is finally getting baptized Saturday.  We’ve been teaching him for soooooo long, since maybe my 2nd week here in Peru.  It’s been a long road but so rewarding.  This week he told us that he feels so much strength from the Lord, and that he feels like he’s finally winning this inner battle that he’s been fighting for self-control.  He also told us that for the first time in his life he feels ”whole.”  That before, there was always something missing, something that he had lost in the world and couldn’t find again.  He is so strong and I know without a doubt that he’s going to work miracles here in Jesus Maria through his example and through his self-mastery.

For me, the best part of the mission is when people tell us that they can feel the Spirit.  I live for those moments.  This week we’ve been blessed to have many of those moments.  I’m so grateful to be here. Sure, it’s wicked hard and I know that I have like mountains and mountains more trials of faith to overcome in the next year, but those moments make me want to shout and run because I feel so much joy to be here, seeing real people change their lives for the better.

Until next week,
Hermana Hollberg

Us with Maria Paula

Us with Maria Paula

Picture of most of my zone this very morning!

Picture of most of my zone this very morning!

With Indira who we are teaching

With Indira who we are teaching

Hermana Suqui's Birthday!

Hermana Suqui’s Birthday!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Normal day of studying

Normal day of studying

Bible cover that I bought outside of the Temple

Bible cover that I bought outside of the Temple

Book of Mormon in Quechua

Book of Mormon in Quechua

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Me with a member of our ward yesterday

Me with a member of our ward yesterday

Daughter of Esther with one of Mom's stickers

Daughter of Esther with one of Mom’s stickers

Dinner last night with missionaries and members

Dinner last night with missionaries and members

Marleni, Natalia, Marleni (youngest daughter is named after the mother)

Marleni, Natalia, Marleni (youngest daughter is named after the mother)

Summer is Coming!!!

Summer is Coming!!!

Me wearing Suqui's glasses

Me wearing Suqui’s glasses

December Christmas Garland from Mom

December Christmas Garland from Mom

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

