And on the 6th day, the Good Lord created the mango…

IMGP0428

 

Seriously though, who needs crumby breakfast cereal when you can just have a mango? Fruit here is like manna from heaven.

Barranco is doing great. It’s a funny little district. It’s like the old hippie town of Lima. There a ton of discotheques and trippy graffiti art of like Iggy Pop and David Bowie and John Lennon. Hermana Zumba and I are still just focusing on finding people to teach. That means that we visit as many members as we possibly can every day, and we also do a lot of street contacting. But the contacting is especially hard in this area. If you contact on the poor side, people will let you in but half of the time they’re drunk. If you contact on the rich side, 90% of the time you get an unflinching rejection. But one of the blessings of having a foreign language speaking mission is that the rejections don’t have the same deep meaning as they would in English, so it really doesn’t bother me at all. We just say, ”Ok, esta bien, gracias!” Respecting people’s beliefs is SO incredibly important.

Hermana Zumba is super awesome. She’s also 19 and she’s from the Sierra of Ecuador, which is to say the mountain region. Believe it or not, although it’s on the equator, the town she’s from is quite cold, and she’s suffering here in the heat. She came on the mission almost straight out of high school. She was studying chemistry, yay! Chemistry is great. She is super responsible and she reminds me a bit of Caroline; just really sweet, like her. She’s always taking care of me, like telling me to stop eating candy or picking at my nails, and she even grabs my hand some time when we cross the street. She’ll be a good mom. Haha. But yeah it’s funny. Sometimes I have to remind her that I know my way around and do understand spanish. But it’s so great to have her. She came pretrained, I swear.

 

IMGP0467

This week, on the night of the 8th, it actually rained. It was in the middle of the night, and I was so surprised to hear the sound of drops hitting our roof that I actually woke up from the usual nighttime-missionary-coma that we all fall into. I couldn’t believe it! I just layed in my bed for a long time listening to it. It was the most peaceful sound I’ve every heard in my life. I’m pretty sure I’ve never slept better.
IMGP0427
IMGP0399
IMGP0396
IMGP0397

This week I’ve been studying a lot of parables that Jesus taught and it’s been super interesting. Jesus the Christ is an incredible guide for this.

On Thursday I’m going to be hitting my 6-month mission mark, woo hoo! I can’t believe it. It’s gone by crazy fast. Missionaries always have traditions, like burning clothes on the big month marks. I think sisters burn tights or something when 6 months hits, take a ”pregnant” picture at 9 months, then burn a shirt at 12 and a skirt at 18 months. Guys burn ties and shirts or something, I’m not sure. But I don’t think I’ll really be doing any of those things though… sorry. I’d rather just give a skirt away or something. Haha.

Anyway, I’m having a good time. Getting the know the ward and area better.  I think I’m going to die of heat though. PHEW. But the work moves on. Every day, it’s our goal to work harder and harder like it’s our last day to get it all done!

Sure love all of you guys! Take care! Be thankful for all of that precipitation that you’re blessed with!
Att. La Hermana Hollberg

First Dr. Pepper I've seen here!

First Dr. Pepper I’ve seen here!

 

IMGP0443

 

IMGP0464

 

We went bowling last week on Pday!!   My nickname is Sulley…

 

IMGP0441

 

IMGP0435

 

IMGP0438

 

IMGP0434

 

We made a Plan of Salvation/Plan of Happiness to teach with! Zumba didn’t want to draw so she colored, cut and laminated. It worked out well for us both.

IMGP0472

 

IMGP0470

 

IMGP0468

 

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

