This Week in Barranco

Hermana Zumba and I, and Elders Alva and Viñoles at cambios.  Poor Elder Viñoles had a cambio and moved over to San Miguel after like 6 months in Barranco.

Hermana Zumba and I, and Elders Alva and Viñoles at cambios. Poor Elder Viñoles had a cambio and moved over to San Miguel after like 6 months in Barranco.

Ready to go to church! A sister was visiting members with us and she asked if she could store her shoes at our house (because obviously they were not good for walking) but she forgot them.

Ready to go to church! A sister was visiting members with us and she asked if she could store her shoes at our house (because obviously they were not good for walking) but she forgot them.

 

Things are going pretty normal here! New stuff:

At cambios (transfers), we got a whole bunch of missionaries who are emergency transfers from Venezuela. Everyone wants to know more about what happened but so much is under wraps. We think that more will be coming in the next few transfers. What we DO know though is that next cambios, there will be two more missionaries coming in and sharing the Barranco ward with us! There’s already four of us, but the boundaries are relatively big and there is so much work to do, so the Bishop talked to our president the other day and they told us that they’re opening up a ”Barranco 3.”

Also, noteworthy, at cambios there was one missionary from Argentina or something, but he had just come home from a foreign exchange in Kamas, Utah. When the President introduced him to the mission, he asked, ”Now, does anybody here know where Kamas is?” My hand shot up in the air. I was one of like 2 out of the whole mission who did. Good old Kamas!! :’) I wanted to talk to this Elder, but I didn’t get the chance. Small world, eh?

Oh also, just so you know, I didn’t have a cambio and neither did Zumba! It was a miracle! We were the only ones of the new group of missionaries (that came and were training at the same time as Zumba) who didn’t have a cambio. YES! I was so happy. I didn’t feel ready to leave yet and I didn’t want to go.

This week, Hermana Zumba asked me which season it was where the leaves turn yellow and fall on the ground. Naturally, she’s not that aquainted with the whole 4-season deal because she lives basically at the equator and they have a rainy season and a dry season, nothing more. Sometimes I forget what it’s like for these people, how they have no real experience of a ”white Christmas” or things like that. Stuff like that blows my mind!!

Our pensionista picked us up a Zumba exercise disc! Was that written correctly? Sorry I’ve honestly forgotten how to English. Anyway but yeah we’ve been doing Zumba (the dance) in the mornings and it’s been SOOOOOOOOO FUN I can’t even tell you guys how much I’ve been enjoying it. I’m learning salsa, zamba, flamingo, cumbia… all sorts of really cool traditional dances from latin america and it feels like I’m coming home to my past a tiny bit. You guys should try it, it’s so fun!! It makes you feel great.

This week the Mission President got interviewed for an entire hour by a prominent Limeña radio station!! We got permission to listen to it, and as soon as we got the text from the APs, we ran to the closest member’s house and asked to use their radio. I happened to be running a fever that day but it was totally worth it, booking it over there. A few missionaries were also invited to share their testimonies in the interview, and the neatest thing happened: one of the elders, Elder Carabayllo from Argentina, was telling about why he decided to serve a mission and the host was like, ”Wait wait we’re getting a call from a listener in Argentina, Hello?” and it was the Elder’s DAD. It was so cute! He was like, ”Son? Son? Hello? Son! How are you doing! I love you son!” He was in an airplane flying out of Argentina for something but he was streaming the radio on the internet and heard his son and called the station. It was so cool! For missionaries, when we can only hear our parents’ voices twice a year, getting an extra chance just doesn’t happen. What a blessing!

We might be having a baptismal service this Thursday! I’ll let you know what goes on with that :) Keep your fingers crossed!!

For the most part, I’m still doing the same thing down here, living off of figs and mangos, trying not to get chased down by stray dogs in the street, handing out Books of Mormon. But what else is new? :) In April, I’ll be completing 9 months in my mission, which will be more than half of my entire time out here! What? When did that happen? Time sure flies when you’re working hard and having fun.

Hope you all have a great week! Take care!!

Love, Hermana Hollberg

 

IMGP2069[1]

‘Es difícil de enseñar cuando mi compañera es-tamal.” (“It is difficult to teach when my partner is a tamale.”)

Joke of the week. If you want to say that someone is sick, you say that ”está mal.” But it’s the same as if you pronounce it ”es tamal” or in other words, ”is a tamal.” Tamal like tamales, the corn stuff wrapped in banana leaf.  Oh well. Just wanted to get that out there.

I just realized that I also spelled dificil wrong on the board. don’t judge me. it was an accident. I’m not dumb I swear!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

 

Cool Sunset!

Cool Sunset!

 

IMGP2074[1]

 

**rolls up shirt sleeves, puts on combat boots** I found out this week that Julian Casablancas, the singer to one of my favorite bands The Strokes is coming to Lima, and that also another great band Cut Copy is coming and performing literally right in my ward boundaries. In Barranco. Aghhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!   I’m going to light a candle in my apartment on the day that they perform and hold a mourning service. **weeping**  **takes off combat boots, rolls down sleeves**

Today we went to this WICKED AWESOME musem in Lima. They call it a temple, actually. It’s Catholic and it was absolutely amazingly ornate. It’s from the 1600s and in the basement, there are catacombs with about 25,000 human skeletons everywhere. It was spooky scary.

IMGP2085[1]

 

Here’s a picture of the District and of H’Zumba and I.

Our District

Our District

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

