Hey everyone!

IMGP2293

 

Hey everyone! I hope that you are all doing really well. This week has been pretty eventful. Let’s see, where do I start…..

There was another earthquake Saturday night. It was like a 4-pointer I think? It was at 11 PM or so, but this time I didn’t feel it. I was knocked out.

I got to try this lovely soup called ‘pataska’. It’s made with a ton of corn and the meat from a cow hoof. Thinking about it too much makes your insides feel spooky but it actually wasn’t that bad. Just like chicken! But last week, we had the pleasure of trying it but instead of the traditional cow foot, it was with the stomach lining. That was certainly different. Instead of looking pink and like normal meat, it’s rubbery and white and thick. It has the texture of a tongue, or maybe even a little more exaggerated than that. Kind of fuzzy.Yep.

I might be going to Ecuador this week. No joke. We’ll stay tuned on that.

Maria Paula’s grandma (named Maria S.) got baptized!!! Do you guys remember her? She’s like the sweetest lady in the whole world and we got to visit them literally every Wednesday at 4pm for my entire time in Jesus Maria. She was so cool. She was the most faithful investigator ever (she would read the Book of Mormon every day at 4 am and never missed a Sunday) but it was funny because she never knew that she was an investigator because we never taught her directly. I have to tell you, when I went there, she gave me this little bag with two hand-knitted purses!! One was for me and one was to mail to Mom! She is such a thoughtful woman! When you all come down to pick me up, she said that they have an extra room and bathroom in her house and that you could stay there for free if you wanted. :) She’s the best. Anyway, unfortunately, as what often seems to happen at baptisms, there were a lot of family problems that suddenly blew up right before the day came. In the end, Maria had to sneak out of her house and not tell anyone where she was going in order to attend her own baptism. When I was talking to her, she told me, ”I know what I’m doing. It’s my decision. I’m an adult and I know that what I’m doing is something that is good and something that God wants.” Her baptism was part of a ”Noche Blanca” and there were quite a few people there, including the President and Hermana Borg! There was even a really pretty musical number. I’m really happy that it was so special. I’m so glad that that one day, Hermana Suqui and I found their family. I know that soon, everything will work out. Maria is a woman with so much faith, we’ve already seen a few miracles with them, including the healing of her husband who almost died a few days before Christmas. Now he’s even more healthy than her!

IMGP2424

BAPTISM OF MARIA!!!

IMGP2428

When a lot of people get baptized in one day they call it a “noche blanca”

All of a sudden, I’m drawing up a blank on everything. I know that so much stuff happened but I can’t remember what I was going to say anymore! Oh well. That was pretty much everything interesting that happened. Outside of that, same old same old. One of our investigators named Marilú might get baptized this Saturday! She’s really cool. I’ll have to tell you guys about her next week.

Well, la hora me gana, como siempre. Espero que estén bien. Falta poco para vernos en Skype! Les quiero mucho. Cualquier cosa que yo pueda hacer para ustedes, me avisan :)

Con mucho amor,

Hermana Hollberg
Margarita finally let me straighten her hair :)

Margarita finally let me straighten her hair :)

The pattecones that we made (a side from Ecuador made from fried bananas)

The pattecones that we made (a side from Ecuador made from fried bananas)

 

Working in the kitchen

Working in the kitchen

 

IMGP2319

 

IMGP2317

 

IMGP2323

 

 

Preparing stuff for the ward party that we had on the 18th

Preparing stuff for the ward party that we had on the 18th

 

A HUGE pot of Carapulcra

A HUGE pot of Carapulcra

 

Photos from last week that I didn't get to send, celebrating Zumba's birthday at the bishop's house.

Photos from last week that I didn’t get to send, celebrating Zumba’s birthday at the bishop’s house.

 

IMGP2343

 

Teaching our recent convert Daniela and her daughter how to make French toast

Teaching our recent convert Daniela and her daughter how to make French toast

 

Hna Zumba got a new bag for her laundry.  Testing it out.

Hna Zumba got a new bag for her laundry. Testing it out.

 

Margarita made a page in my scrapbook/notebook.  (Everyone in the mission has one and it's kind of like a yearbook.)

Margarita made a page in my scrapbook/notebook. (Everyone in the mission has one and it’s kind of like a yearbook.)

 

Celebrating a birthday of a member ;)

Celebrating a birthday of a member ;)

 

IMGP2400

 

Easter Eggs from home!  YES!

Easter Eggs from home! YES!

 

IMGP2417

 

Tutoring

Tutoring

 

Painting a house

Painting a house

 

IMGP2420

 

Looking for hidden Easter Eggs

Looking for hidden Easter Eggs

 

IMGP2324

 

Playing

Playing

 

An Easter Egg that I made for myself; real egg!

An Easter Egg that I made for myself; real egg!

 

Visiting people with Gina, a ward member

Visiting people with Gina, a ward member

 

Self Explanatory

Self Explanatory

 

IMGP2377

 

 

 

 

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

