Give Me Mountains!

Ether 12:37

And it came to pass that the Lord said unto me: If they have not 
charity it mattereth not unto thee, thou hast been faithful;
wherefore, thy garments shall be made cleanAnd because thou 
hast seen thy weakness thou shalt be made strong, even unto the 
sitting down in the place which have prepared in the mansions of my Father.

 
Y aconteció que el Señor me dijo: Si no tienen caridad, es cosa que nada tiene que ver contigo; tú has sido fiel; por tanto, tus vestidos estarán limpios. Y porque has visto tu debilidad, serás fortalecido, aun hasta sentarte en el lugar que he preparado en las mansiones de mi Padre.

And that would be my scripture of the week. I kind of like it a tiny bit better in Spanish. So I posted it too!

So we had cambios! Just as I predicted, nobody got changed. In fact, only one person in the entire zone had a transfer. Everyone says that Las Flores is the zone where everyone just kind of forgets that the same missionaries are there or have been there for 9 months. I think I’ll be here for a while. I might even die here (speaking in mission terms, don’t worry Mom). But two Elders in our zone got emergency sent to Ecuador and Colombia because they still haven’t had their visas, after more than a year, and the leaders had to just be like, ”sorry we’re changing your mission,” after they had been out here in Lima for more than half of their time. But there was no other choice. Poor Elders… The President just called them on Monday night and they were gone by the next day. I really really hope that doesn’t happen to me. Oh yeah, also we got like 7 missionaries from the UKRAINE missions, can you believe it!! They were in the MTC in Provo learning Ukrainian (?) and then last minute the church was like, ”Hey just kidding you’re going to learn Spanish and you’re going to Perú.” And it was AFTER most of them had bought all of their huge coats and boots and everything. Poor guys. But it’s cool to have them here.


This week I ate BURRO SOUP. Cool. By the way a burro is like a little donkey. It was pretty good. Also there were like two more earthquakes, but just little tiny ones. They’re scary. One of them was yesterday. Today is the first official day of winter here in Perú but it seems like the Pachamama (‘Mother Earth’ in Quechua) hasn’t actually made up her mind yet because one day it’s hot and then another day it’s so flipping cold!!!  But one thing is for sure — it has gotten crazy humid.  Mold is a serious problem.  If you have a jacket or coat that you haven’t used in a while, it’s probably growing mold in your closet.  And then you have to take it to the cleaners and it’s all just a huge pain.  It’s really sad because if you buy cereal and open the bag, you have to eat it all really fast because if not, it get’s all soggy just from sitting out. It’s a hard-knock life.

 
ANYWAY. I want to tell you guys the story of this guy named Luis. So a few weeks back, we had the ward directory and we were just going around, trying to visit people who lived in our sector because we had nothing else to do. We got to this one house and we were looking for a sister named ”Etervina” who we didn’t know personally yet. We knocked on the door and a little old man came out and was like, ”No, she doesn’t live here and she never has, but are you guys looking for me? I’m a member too! Well, I haven’t gone to church for a few years but I’m still a member. But I actually wanted to talk to you guys about that!” And Hermana Castillo and I just look at eachother and go, ”Uh, chyaaa we were definitely looking for you too!!  What’s your name, hermano?” And he told us and invited us to come back the next week.  When we came back, he was like, ”Oh great, I was praying that you would come! Come in! I want to talk to you!”  We started talking to him and listening to his story. He had first met the missionaries by visiting the Oakland, California temple when he was living in the USA quite a few years back. Then he came back to Peru and got baptized here.  And he was always a super faithful member.  But one day one member said something that was not very sensitive to him and it hurt his feelings and he was too sad to come back to church, so he fell away for a few years.  While he was talking, we could just tell that he’s SUCH a sweet, little sensitive guy.  Honestly, he’s probably the nicest Peruvian man that I have ever met.  It was so sweet.  Also he’s an agricultural engineer and just loves taking care of little plants.  But he told us that he’s always known that this is the true church and that none of the other churches have ever held any interest for him after he got baptized because he simply knew that this was his church.  But he had been caring the burden of what had happened in his heart for so long and just needed to tell someone.  We talked to him for a while and read some scriptures and it was honestly one of the most spiritually powerful lessons that I’ve ever been in.  In the end, Luis was weeping a little bit, and Hermana Castillo and I could tell that he had felt so relieved just to talk to someone.  It was such an amazing moment to be in.  He said that he was willing to have an interview with the Bishop to clear everything up and start again with a clean slate.  After that, he hasn’t ever missed a sacrament meeting.  We saw him the following sunday there and he was like, ”Ok, I’ll be needing a new triple combination.  Do you guys have any?”  The mission gives us Books of Mormon to give out but not triple combinations (the Bible with the Book of Mormon in one book), so we couldn’t help him out, but he was like. ”It’s ok, I’ll just go to the temple this week and buy a new one!”  And he went, all by himself!  It was incredible!  that just doesn’t happen!  He picked up a new hymnbook and the hymns on CD, and he also got his triple.  He told us that he just loved it and that there in the temple grounds, he felt the same powerful spirit that he had felt that very first time that he went to Oakland.  And so now he told us that he knows that temples really are Houses of the Lord and that every temple has His Spirit.  Luis is the best and we just love visiting him.  He basically just reactivated himself, we didn’t even have to do anything.  Even though we don’t have anybody to teach and we spend every day just contacting people in the street, I feel like that was a little tender mercy that the Lord sent to us to have an experience like that.  Every time, Heavenly Father sends a little life raft down to keep you just out of the water, and to keep you safe.

Anyway, so that was my week. Everything pretty normal outside of that stuff.  Peru’s doing good.  FIFA is going crazy, even though Peru’s team is a little too lousy to actually participate (sorry Peru).  I’m doing ok.  Hermana Castillo’s doing ok.  We’ve still got a lot to do, and admittedly starting this cambio has been really hard for us because we feel like we just have a huge mountain to climb ahead of us… but it’s going to be ok.  I don’t know why, but I have always just been given literally THE roughest sectors in this mission, but it’s ok because it’s my trial to face and my lesson to learn.  So BRING IT ON!  There’s this one EFY  (especially for youth) song that’s stuck in my head that goes, ”Give me mountains to climb, give me rivers to cross, give me something that’s going to take me higher than I was…” MISSION THEME SONG.


Love you all!


Sois lo máximo.


Love, Hermana Hollberg
Me and Brud

Me and Brud

 

eating actual INDIAN FOOD for cambios!!!!

eating actual INDIAN FOOD for cambios!!!!

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Hermana Zumba and her daughter (my granddaughter)

Hermana Zumba and her daughter (my granddaughter)

 

Me and my daughter Hermana Zumba

Me and my daughter Hermana Zumba

 

A cute little bat puppy in the road that was the size of a beanie baby and was following me around

A cute little bat puppy in the road that was the size of a beanie baby and was following me around

 

some different types of papas (potatoes) they're called papa amarilla, papa negra, papa morada and then one more that I don't know what it's called. but they all have distinct flavors and are colorful inside too! cool stuff. I have to get a picture of the insides. the purple one has purple rings inside kind of like an onion

some different types of papas (potatoes) they’re called papa amarilla, papa negra, papa morada and then one more that I don’t know what it’s called. but they all have distinct flavors and are colorful inside too! cool stuff. I have to get a picture of the insides. the purple one has purple rings inside kind of like an onion

 

there's only sand here. DESERT

there’s only sand here. DESERT

 

teaching a transformer

teaching a transformer

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

being twins.

being twins.

 

Smile!

Smile!

LOVE YOU GUYS!!!!!

BYE!!!!

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

