Just another normal week here in Peru‏

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I put that photo first because it’s the coolest thing that has happened this week, and it makes me proud.  That was about 3 hours ago.  It’s a little octupus thing!  Believe it or not, the dish was SO GOOD.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The dish is called “Arroz con Mariscos” not sure what all is in it! But I got to keep the clam shells, so there.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Today for P-day we got to go to ”La Punta” (the Point) of Callao.  Those of you who are serious blog followers (thanks Mom) might remember that Callao is the most dangerous part of Lima, but it’s weird because there’s one part that’s super touristy and it’s this really big long harbor that goes out into the Pacific Ocean.  So we went out there and all of the Elders got to play fútbol (soccer) all day in this field that was literally 20 feet from the water.  It was gorgeous.  And being the coast, Callao is really famous for being hardcore fisherman so we got to have a really great lunch with fresh fish and clam dishes.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also on Wednesday we got to go to the temple!!  It was so great.  I have now been in the Lima temple 3 times.  But we didn’t take any pictures because all of the Elders were really hungry and wanted to go home afterwards.  Elders are never super into photos… but it’s cool.  I already have too many photos of the temple.  We are going to go with the ward again soon—I think on the 11th—and take some of our recent converts and reactivated members to do baptisms for the dead for the first time.  We’re so excited!!

But other than that, this week has been pretty slow because we spent more than half of it stuck in the house.  Last week, Hermana Castillo began to have a lot of back pain.  On Monday she finally hit the point where she couldn’t sit for extended periods of time and we had to go back to the house and call Hermana Borg.  We had an appointment in a clinic in Miraflores on Thursday and we found out that Hermana Castillo was born with her back leaning a tiny bit to the lefty side instead of being straight.  The combination of the cold, humidity, stress and constant weight of her backpack has made her disks in her spine contract a ton.  The doctor was like, ”I don’t want her working for 4-5 days. End of story.”  Then he hooked her up with a TON of pills to take, including muscle relaxers.  So… yeah.  We’ve been trapped.  And I have never felt SO BRAIN DEAD in my life.  I think I have an idea of why it’s hard to make the adjustment to not do anything when you get home.  When you’re stuck inside, you just feel so antsy and grubby like you have to get out and achieve something.  Oh boy.  So I had to spend Thursday and Friday in but I finally managed to get out and catch up in our area on Saturday.  There was this crazy turn of events where I got to be companions with Hermana Brudnicki for a day!  It was so fun!!!!  Oh my gosh, really though.  We would always joke in the MTC that one day we would be real companions and it really happened!  But it was a good day.  Even though Hermana Castillo should have stayed home from church yesterday too, she couldn’t handle it anymore and went anyway.  Poor girl.So there’s not a ton to tell for the week.  Let’s see… also, I taught my pensionista about peanut butter!  We were talking about it at lunch because she had never tried it before and I was like, ”Yeah, it’s super delicious if you eat it on bread with honey!”  She and my companion were both like, ”EWWWW that sounds HORRIBLE!!!  With something sweet?!  AGH!”  But then I went back to the house, got some peanut butter and honey and converted them.  Also, I found out that one of the Elders in my zone from Argentina (Elder Soria) found and followed my blog before he got out here in the field.  That was cool!  He’s been out for 6 months I think.  But he’s really cool, he’s got an amazing story.  He is a convert who joined the church just 2 years ago but wanted to serve a mission as soon as he could after he was baptized.  He’s the only member of his family but he worked super hard to support himself to pay to be out here.  But his father passed away just before he hit the 1 year mark after his baptism, which postponed his service date.  But he still wanted to serve so he waited and here he is!  Qué chevere.  Now that’s a great example of faith and devotion.

As for my spiritual thought for the week, I would like to share one of my recent ponderings:

The other day, I was thinking about our memory and how our brains work.  In the mission field we see a lot of people working on repentance, and I was thinking about repentance and how it’s so hard sometimes to forgive ourselves for what we’ve done wrong, even when we have been forgiven by the Lord. It’s interesting to think that in the resurrectoin, we’ll be able to remember every moment of our life and all of our guilt because our bodies will be restored to their perfect form.  Right now, they say that we can only use 10% of our brain power at once.  I’m guessing that after we are resurrected, all of that will be opened up to us.  But right now, maybe Heavenly Father put that 10% speed limit on us as an act of mercy for us.  Our brains really are capable of clearly remembering every moment of our lives, but right now in our earthly state, under the veil that the Lord has covered us with, all memories begin to fade as time goes by.  I think that it was an act of mercy because it helps us move on from the past in a much smoother process.  They say that time heals all wounds.  I think that that is true, and also that maybe time is one of the ways that the Lord heals us from our own sins.  I know that if I could remember vividly every mistake that I’ve made right now, I would feel so much more anguished and guilty and weighed down in my heart that I would have a much harder time moving on and having hope that I could become a different person.  But luckily many of my past errors have faded as I have left them behind, repented and tried to follow the example of the Savior over these years.  It’s really beautiful to see that everything that God gives us aren’t restrictions, but liberations.

Anyway, so that was it.  The gospel is so cool because it’s just connected to EVERYTHING.  RJ once explained it to me as a huge web, and I’m totally on board with that.  Everything can be tied to the spiritual.  It’s awesome.  I love trying to think of examples like this where you can find relationships between various principles of science and the gospel.I sure love you guys and love the support that you give my companion and I.

You are all the best! Have a great week and take care!!!

Love,
Hermana Hollberg

 

After a Stake Family History Meeting

After a Stake Family History Meeting

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

My beautiful sector.

stuck in the apartment

Being stuck in the house and bored out of our minds.

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Taking “Little Mermaid” photos. Why not? I love Hermana Brudnicki.

 

Little Mermaid shots

Little Mermaid shots

 

You can see the little soccer field back there, right near the ocean.

You can see the little soccer field back there, right near the ocean.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

 

 

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

