¡FELIZ DÍA DE PATRIAS!‏

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Raise your hands how many of you read The Fourth Missionary that I talked about last week?????  Do it – it’s applicable to anyone!!

Hey so guess what? Today is independence day here in Perú! Since Lima is the capital, thinks were pretty interesting down there in Central Lima today. There were a ton of national police there and they closed down one of the big main roads because supposedly the President gave a speech. I think we heard his voice. We happened to be down there in the morning becuase Hermana Loayza needed to buy a new suitcase. Oh yeah, also it’s a law here that EVERYONE literally has to put a Peruvian flag on their roof for independecne day, and the local police go around and fine everybody who doesn’t between 50-100 soles. Crazy right?

This week has been pretty interesting for a few reasons! A lot of things have happened! But I think that the craziest thing that happened this week could be that we almost burned down the ward last monday! That was pretty different! We all went and hung out there to make some cool food made out of bananas and stuff from the jungle, and we were using the grill to smoke the bananas (by the way, smoked bananas is definitely a strange combination of flavors).
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Making Takachos as a zone (a food from the Selva)

Apparently someone put some hot coals in a big pile of garbage outside by the basketball court and forgot about it. Just as we were leaving for the afternoon, the fire alarms go off. At first, we blew it off, thinking it was just from leftover smoke from cooking, but all of a sudden, the zone leaders came bolting around the corner yelling, ”OHMIGOSH THERE’S A FIRE, THERE’S A REAL FIRE!!!” They yanked the fire extinguisher off of the wall and flew outside again. Sure enough, the flames were between 3 and 4 feet tall. That’s bad news for baby. There was a little building right next to it that happened to be full of tanks of natural gas, but luckily nothing serious happened. The wall kind of bubbled a bit under the heat and the paint melted on the door though. Can you believe that! Anyway I really hope that the President doesn’t prohibit us from cooking as a zone anymore…. oops!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

That one time when we almost burned down the ward

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
I don’t remember if I told you guys or not, but last sunday, this little old guy got up to say the opening prayer for sacrament meeting, and literally gave the classic recited Catholic prayer: ”Padre Nuestro, que está en los cielos, sanctificado sea tu nombre….etc.” And then he just added a couple of his own thoughts on the end and closed in the name of Jesus Christ. Oh boy…. We were all just sitting there with our heads in our hands. The bishop was too. It was actually really hilarious. And then yesterday the 1st counselor gave a talk specifically on prayer. Oh, Catholic south america…..

This week, this lady in my ward was like. ”Hey I want all of you four missionaries to come to my house and we’re all going to make something from your hometown or country!” I very hazily remembered how to make the tomato soup that we made at Caputo’s, and that’s something that is certainly bizzare for Peruvians to imagine (”Soup?? Made from… tomatoes?”) so I signed up for it. To be sure, I talked to my best friend Hermana Borg to make sure that I had the recipe straight, and then we did a practice run. We didn’t have a blender so it just turned out like a good old, hearty soup with chopped tomatoes and it was DANG GOOD. Even I was surprised how it turned out. I was practically singing the Star Spangled Banner while I ate it. I know that Heavenly Father doesn’t want me to brag though, so I’m going to repent when I finish writing this email. We didn’t end up having the diversity party with the member though, but it was still fun to actually cook for once in a long time!

So tomorrow is cambios (transfers)! And guess what? Elder Martinez literally just called us right as I was writing this. Hermana Castillo will be leaving San Silvestre and training, and I’ll be staying here. heh heh…… cool. To be honest I’m kind of bummed that I’m staying because I’m so out of ideas for this place… I don’t know what to do anymore. But we have had literally no progress these entire 3 months here. Oh boy. Who is going to be my new companion? Agh this is going to bug me! But I’ll find out tomorrow. And I’ll let you guys know next week… haha. The entire zone is going to be completely different, everyone is leaving!! Wow I’m in shock!

Anyway I had like 2 more things to write but my mind is blank so I’m going to have to leave it be until next week. I hope you guys are all doing really well! Keep reading your Books of Mormon! The church is true and the way to find out for youself is by finding the heart of our religion, which is the book that is the keystone! Take care!

Love, Hermana Hollberg

Last p day

We found this SUPER scary manikin in the Mercado. it was seriously the scariest that I’ve seen.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

THEN at the ward we found this room full of FIFA cardboard cutouts! Hermana Brudnicki and I didn’t know who any of them are and honestly they don’t interest us at all but it was still funny to take silly pictures with them for the heck of it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

...will you...

…will you…

 

Giving some advice to my buddy Messi

Giving some advice to my buddy Messi

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Turns out that Elder Alva knows how to do those 3 second spray-paint paintings! Cool, huh?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I forgot to tell you thank you so much for the PACKAGE!!!!!!!! I LOVED IT”!  THE SHIRT IS INCREDIBLE!!!!

I have about 3654694 more photos to send but the internet is too slow and I’m out of time so I have to bail on them. It’s a bummer, right? We’ll wait for next week.  :(

 

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

