Babby’s first Cornelio‏

OK nobody is allowed to read the rest of this email until they watch this video:
I’m obsessed with this video right now. It’s beautiful.

SOOO

This week has been pretty eventful. As you guys saw last week, we had cambios. Hermana Castillo was sent to the Maranga stake which is over in the coast and I stayed here. My new companion is named Hermana Sanjines, and she’s from Buenos Aires, Argentina! She’s really sweet and calm. We get along fine. Her birthday is on the 17th of this month and she’ll be turning 29! Wow. We’re definitely going to push her face into a cake. That’s how you show love around here. But yeah, she’s super great and I’m excited for this cambio.

Also, almost 2 weeks ago, we had our interviews with President Borg and I was talking to him about our sector and in the end, he had the idea to change the way that we’ve divided the ward boundaries between us Hermanas and the Elders. I think it’s going to be GREAT because we’ll have a ton more members within our area and that’ll be a great help. Seriously, missionary work funcions at about 2% efficiency when there aren’t members there to support the missionaries. You folks are important! Never forget it! So anyway, we’ve worked it all out about where our new boundaries will be and right now we’re in the transition of passing investigators and less active members over to each other. Tonight we have a Family Home Evening with a family of recent converts that got baptised with the Elders a little while back. The dad’s name is Guillermo and he’s seriously the convert of my dreams that I would love to have because he just gets everything and he’s become so passionate about it all! It’s amazing to see how much he’s changed and grown in these few months since he’s first started to learn about the Gospel. Since we’ve changed the boundaries, we’ll be teaching him from now on and helping him prepare to get his first limited-use Temple recommend and do his family history. I’m so excited!

But….. I’ll have to tell you, I wasn’t that excited about things when I started this cambio. To be pretty honest, I was quite bummed. I’m out of ideas for this place. I don’t know what I can do differently here to get things to work out. We just haven’t found anyone yet who really has that true desire to know for themselves if the gospel is true or not. We’ve helped a lot of people though, and of course that makes us really happy, but it’s hard when they don’t want to progress, especially when you know that they’re just so close to having such a great blessing in their lives!! On Sunday, I was pretty sad. None of our investigators had shown up and I was feeling pretty overwhelmed by the 6 weeks that I have ahead of me here. While the sacrament was being passed, I closed my eyes and prayed and prayed for knowledge and strength to better help the people here in San Silvestre. When I finished, I opened my eyes and saw Guillermo’s little 12 year old son who had just gotten baptized and received the Aaronic priesthood. He was passing the sacrament for the first time, and he had just stopped to pass the tray of bread to our row. His mom, who still hasn’t decided to get baptized yet was sitting at my side, and as I looked up, I saw Guillermo himself sitting at the Priests’ bench, after he had just blessed the sacrament for the first time. It was this little moment that just hit me as I saw the three of them—this little new family. When I saw them, I just felt so filled with happiness. It was a tiny blessing that Heavenly Father sent me, and it was just the nudge that I needed to be able to bear myself up for this week. Maybe it’s true that I’ve never personally gotten to teach and see a family like that become converted to the gospel, but it’s enough just to know that somewhere, it is happening. Even though Guillermo was one of the Elders’ investigators, it was enough to see him bless the sacrament with such reverence, pass it to his son who passed it to his mother and little brother who were sitting at my side. And it was definitely enough to see Guillermo stand and bear his testimony with such fervor at the podium during Fast and Testimony Meeting. It was a moment where I felt that maybe the drought was going to be ending here. At least, my personal drought.

Then as the meeting ended, this random woman that we’ve never seen before came up to us and was like, ”Hey, can you help me? I’d like to know what I need to do to get baptized! I’d like to get baptized please!” I just about fell over. And guess what? She happened to live right in our new sector. It would have been an investigator for the Elders but we had changed the limits yesterday which made it perfectly in time to be our responsability. WHAT? Now THAT’S a tender mercy. I think Heavenly Father was like, ”Ok, the poor girl’s suffering, let’s give her a little booster just in time to keep her afloat.” Anyway so we talked to her and she’s basically been attending church for 2 years and nobody knew that she wasn’t baptized. But she finally decided to join the church! If all goes as planned, her baptism will be the 17th, Hermana Sanjines’ birthday! I hope so. I’m kind of scared to hope because it’s just to good to be true but I’m still going to put my faith into it….!!!

Anyway, I’m out of time but I just wanted to share those little stories with you guys. It’s true that God is watching out for us. I’ve seen it so many times. I know that I’m sure not the best or strongest missionary out there but I do what I can and I know that I wouldn’t be anything out here without the little tender mercies that He sends for us. This is a great work.

I sure love you guys! Thank you so much for your awesome emails!!

Love,
Hermana Hollberg

 

MOM!  We got your package with the licorice!!!

MOM! We got your package with the licorice!!!

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Making soup last week

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

REAL hot chocolate made straight from cacao!!!! I'm gonna send this picture to Caroline too!

REAL hot chocolate made straight from cacao!!!! Caputo’s would be so proud. I’m gonna send this picture to Caroline too!

 

Us eating dinner with the Relief Society President Vicky

Us eating dinner with the Relief Society President Vicky

 

 

Us with Jessica and her super cool family who live in Utah now, but are down visiting.  Her kids' first language is English!

Us with Jessica and her super cool family who live in Utah now, but are down visiting. Her kids’ first language is English!

 

Eating more weird seafood

Eating more weird seafood

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Seeing all of the flags for the 28th

Seeing all of the flags for the 28th

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Some fresh puppies

Some fresh puppies

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

