The baptismal drought is almost over!

 

 

My Peruvian ID card! Finally, I have my visa!!!!!

 

 

Just today, during lunch!

Just today, during lunch!

Ok, so I took a few photos this week and I was pretty excited to show them to you guys, but I plugged my camera into the computer and it looks like they’re simply not there anymore. Lousy public computers givin’ my stuff viruses!! I’m just about sick of it. Well, at least I can send the photos from the last two weeks that I haven’t managed to send! :)

Things have been going well this week. There’s not a lot too new to tell. Except the fact that we had some of our mission rules changed!!! We are now officially the only mission in Perú that is allowed to use computers one hour extra a week as a companionship to do our own Family History! They all figured that if we’re going to be teaching everyone else how to do it, we better be able to testify about the blessings. That’s really cool. I’m excited. I know that there’s a lot of kids out there who are like, ”Well hey, I don’t need to do anything because my mom/aunt/grandma already did it all, so I’m good.” But the truth is, Family History is a work that NEVER ENDS! And it’s awesome because that means it’s ENDLESS blessings. You just have to look at the website FamilySearch.org and you realize how much that still needs our help. After spending a few sessions working on our own trees, Hermana Brudnicki and I both looked at each other and said, ”Ok….. I admit… this is actually pretty cool.” And now we’re hooked. That’s the Spirit of Elias! We’re working right now to finish filling out these little pamphlets that they’ve given us with little stories and pictures. Also, I have a request for you guys, family: I would like to know, what’s the conversion story of our family? When did the Romney’s join and when did the Hollbergs join? I would love to find that out but I’m not sure if I have the resources to do it. Any bits of information that you could send me would be amazing. :)

We’re still working with our ”Cornelio” Roxana (I explained that term, right? it’s mission slang for a person who comes to the missionaries already prepared, literally asking for our help to be baptized) and as of now, it still looks like her baptism is planned for next Sunday morning. I really hope it all works out! As I mentioned last week, her 10-year-old daughter (whose spark really reminds me of Isabelle) has been an active member of the church for 2 years, and she’s actually been helping us teach the lessons to her mom! She’s super intelligent and has a really bright personality. It was so cute when we taught the first lesson to Roxana and she went to say the closing prayer—-she had her daughter at her side, whispering the words into her mom’s ear just as moms usually help their kids learn how to pray. ”Please bless our family, thank you for letting the sister missionaries come and teach us…” And her mom humbly repeated it all. It was such a sweet moment!

We’re still teaching the amazing Guillermo and his family. Seriously, I feel like I learn more from them and from their example than I teach them. You can’t help but leave their house beaming and feeling radiant inside. They have this little 5 year old son named Gabriel and he reminds me EXACTLY of Max and Hudson. Aw… I miss you guys! After we had taught a little lesson about family unity and played a game, Gabriel jumped up and shouted, ”I like to help cleaning my room and setting the table because my family is a TEAM and we WORK TOGETHER!” He was really excited! Wow. After the lesson was over, Guillermo pointed to a picture of the temple on the wall and told us, ”There it is! The temple! THAT’S where my wife and I are going to be sealed!!” His wife shared her testimony with us and she’s really amazing. She talked about how her family has turned around 180° with the gospel and how each and every one of them became a completely different person. She knows that everything is true and told us that, but she still wants a little more time before getting baptized. But she basically told us that she will one day. Hermana Sanjines and I figure that it’ll be just a matter of time. As I was helping her serve plates for dinner, she asked me about my family: how many brothers and sisters I have, if they’re all members. I told her that my brothers and sisters were all baptized, but that my step-dad isn’t a member of the church, and she completely surprised me and said, ”Oh, but he will be any day now, right?” and winked! haha she’s a super sweet person. I’m really excited for them.

 

I can’t write that well when I have to do it at 7 million miles an hour and so I hope you guys can understand the stories that I send… But things really have been great this week. My companion is really great. I love Hermana Sanjines. She’s super sweet and humble. She actually really reminds me of Caroline. She’s a great missionary.

I hope you all are doing well! Whatever I can do for you guys, lemme know!

Have a great week!

Love, Hermana Hollberg

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Photos with Jessica and her family and the elders, from lunch at her house a little more than a week ago.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

A picture of President and Hermana Borg fixing Hermana Brudnicki and Hermana Loayza’s shower curtain. That was certainly a funny story. We were eating lunch and then all of the sudden, we get a call from the other sisters that was like, ”Um, can you guys come back here for a minute? The President is at our house right now and he wants so see your room.” Sure enough, we look out the window of our pensionista’s house and there’s the President’s car, right outside of our house. We just about panicked, but then we remembered that we had just cleaned our room the night before and it was good. He came and put some curtains up for us. I didn’t know that Mission Presidents do that!
A picture of this one kid in our ward sleeping on his brother’s brother-in-law’s grandpa’s shoulder during a church movie. We were teaching a lesson to a recent convert and we watched the cool Joseph Smith movie at this guy’s house.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

the first day that has been clear enough to see the mountains!

the first day that has been clear enough to see the mountains!

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

this really ugly hairless Peruvian breed of dog that's super popular here

this really ugly hairless Peruvian breed of dog that’s super popular here

 

Hermana Sanjines finished her soup and guess what she found!! SURPRISE! That's the thing in the chicken that makes the eggs. Here they call it ''sopa a la madre.''

Hermana Sanjines finished her soup and guess what she found!! SURPRISE! That’s the thing in the chicken that makes the eggs. Here they call it ”sopa a la madre.”

 

Birthday cake as a zone to celebrate Hermana Sanjines' and Elder Paredes birthdays this month! Elder Paredes turned 19 on August 7th and Hermana Sanjines' birthday is on the 17th. Next week!

Birthday cake as a zone to celebrate Hermana Sanjines’ and Elder Paredes birthdays this month! Elder Paredes turned 19 on August 7th and Hermana Sanjines’ birthday is on the 17th. Next week!

 

Hermana Brudnicki joking around like it's her birthday. Love her.

Hermana Brudnicki joking around like it’s her birthday. Love her.

 

finishing the photos from last week... the last of the puppies

finishing the photos from last week…
the last of the puppies

 

 

Cool real leather backpack that I bought for myself. Sorry guys, this time I'm not sending it home.

Cool real leather backpack that I bought for myself. Sorry guys, this time I’m not sending it home.

 

Cool shirt mom sent me for my birthday!  Plan of Happiness spelled out in a simple illustration.

Cool shirt mom sent me for my birthday! Plan of Happiness spelled out in a simple illustration.

 

 

 

 

 

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

