You guys wouldn’t believe it….‏

IMG_2029

Last photo with my companion

Last photo with my companion

So this week, we had our cambios! Last thing you all knew, I was getting transferred and I didn’t know where I was going or who would be my companion. Well, I got sent back to the same stake where I started my mission, in Magdalena! But this time, I’m in the Magdalena ward. It’s so crazy! My sector is basically between Jesus Maria and San Isidro, where the mission offices are. I was SO SURE that I would be going to Callao to be companions with another sister. I was completely geared up to be in another very poor district of the mission, but to my huge surprise, they sent me down here to be with my companion from the MTC, Hermana Capps! It’s awesome because we already know each other and we know how to work together, and we’re already friends! Magdalena is ridiculously nice. It’s really odd to be here after getting so used to San Silvestre. All of the local police/watchmen guys have Segways and occasionally we see Porches and stuff. Everyone has really nice clothes and dyed hair and there are a lot of tourists too. The houses are MANSIONS too, but many of them are a lot older, so they’re different inside than the houses in San Juan de Lurigancho.  But that also makes the teaching a lot harder because generally people are a lot more closed off to us in less-humble areas. But our sector is bigger than it was in San Silvestre, so I’m really happy for that. Everything is about double in price here in the grocery stores, and it’s going to be a little hard to make everything work in our poor missionary budget. But we can do it! I’m excited! I quite sure that I’m going to finish my mission here. We’re not sure what’s going to happen with Capps though because we’ll be finishing at the same time, and they don’t usually let that happen…. We’ll have to see.

being sad to go

being sad to go

cleaning the mold from the humidity off of my maleta

cleaning the mold from the humidity off of my maleta

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

my replacement sister in San Silvestre (brand new!)

my replacement sister in San Silvestre (brand new!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Transfers!

Transfers!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

In addition to having a transfer, Hermana Capps and I were both very surprised and intimidated to find out that we were made Sister Training Leaders! We’re in charge of 5 different companionships of sisters in the mission, and our responsibilities are to see to all of their needs and their wellbeing, and to also go on exchanges (intercambios) with all of them every 6 weeks. It’s a handful. And it’s going to be different because neither Hermana Capps nor I have ever done it before, so we’re going to be training ourselves. We’ll see how it goes!

 

But… we have a second half to our new calling too, which I really am excited about! We were also called to be the Family History sisters for the mission! Our job is to work with the Family History Asesores (I really have no idea what the word is in English, I’m not sure what it means) from the Area in order to train and encourage all of our missionaries in Perú Lima Central. We will be giving two days each week to focus on traveling between the 10 zones and giving trainings and meeting with ward councils, stakes missionaries and recent converts (instead of doing our usual proselyting).  We can’t believe it! It’s a whole lot of fun but it’s also a whole lot of responsibility, and we know that this cambio is going to just FLY by. We have so much to do!

 

We have been working so crazy hard and we’ve had to be on the phone calling people and studying and making plans every day this week. We’re both so wiped, but the excitement for each new goal is keeping us up and working. At first we were really overwhelmed and scared, but yesterday we had a meeting with the Asesores from the Area and they just poured out everything that we’re going to need to know for about 2 hours. It was such a great meeting. They are named Pia Castillo and Carlos Levano. Pia requested to be my friend on Facebook, and she has a cool page about indexing where she puts a whole bunch of photos from the mission on.  Anyway, when she was bearing her testimony about everything, I could just feel my heart burning, just like how the hymn The Spirit of God says. She told us that when she was set apart by an Area Seventy, they were blessed to have the Spirit of Elijah, and I really believe it. I know it’s true because I unmistakably and undeniably felt it. We feel like we’re a little more oriented on everything and how we’re going to pull it all together. The President always does a special meeting for all of the newbies that come in every transfer, and so we’ll be going to that on Friday to be giving a little 10 minute introduction to this great work that our mission is doing. We’ll be sharing a lot of what Pia and Carlost told us. Everything is catching like wildfire down here! One day, Lima Central is going to get its own temple. And that is not a joke. That’s what we’re paving the roads for.

 

Time is always just burning away, and I still have so much that I want to tell! But I’ll be able to rant all about how much the family history is amazing next week and the week after that. But the last thing I’ll admit you guys was that in the end, I was really sad to leave San Silvestre. I thought I would just be like jumping in the air and clicking my heels to go, but when it hit me, it made me so sad. I think that the reason was because even though that was the hardest part of my mission, I really grew to love those people and I became very loyal and attached to that sector because we had gone through so much to get it improving. But I’m very very happy to be here now too and I’m excited for many new adventures! Love you guys! Take care!

 

Love, Hermana Hollberg

Some cool places in my sector

Some cool places in my sector

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

finding a lizard in the street

finding a lizard in the street

IMG_2008

IMG_2005

the weirdest, problem fire-hydrant

the weirdest, problem fire-hydrant

sharing a little sumthin with the pope

sharing a little sumthin with the pope

trying to take pictures in the wind

trying to take pictures in the wind

IMG_2042

IMG_2039

being tired

being tired

my sector is the beach again, but all the cool little hidden communities

my sector is the beach again, but all the cool little hidden communities

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_2056

First Missionary Activity in the Magdalena Ward

First Missionary Activity in the Magdalena Ward

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

the hugest Rottweiler that was barking like crazy at us and wanted to kill us

the hugest Rottweiler that was barking like crazy at us and wanted to kill us

tuesday breakfast of my favorite soup! sopa de olluco. Thanks, Hermana Elena!

tuesday breakfast of my favorite soup! sopa de olluco. Thanks, Hermana Elena!

 

a puppy that looks like a beanie baby

a puppy that looks like a beanie baby

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

the photo with the bear -- with Maria and Jerilane Simón (they make the maracuyá cake. I got the recipie)

the photo with the bear — with Maria and Jerilane Simón (they make the maracuyá cake. I got the recipie)

 

 

 

Ok, have a great week! I love you! Say hi to everyone for me!!! Love, Hannah

 

 

 

 

One response

  1. Hi Hannah! It is Michele Earlewine. I read your e-mail every week and just love it! I feel like I am living your mission with you. Your pictures are amazing! My nephew is in the Mexico City MTC for one more week, then heads to Lima next week — he is in the Lima East mission. Not sure if you all ever get together, but his name is Clayton Wilcox. He is awesome and so are you! Thank you for all of your wonderful service to the people of Lima and the Lord. You are a huge blessing to that mission! Love, Michele

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

