The Pressure is On…‏ (From Hannah’s 9-29-14 email)

”No man knows how bad he is until he has tried very hard to be good. A silly idea is current that good people do not know what temptation means. This is an obvious like. Only those who try to resist temptation know how strong it is; after all, you know the strength of the German army by fighting against it, not by giving in. You find out the strength of a wind by walking against it, not by lying down. A man who gives into temptation after 5 minutes simply does not know what it would be like an hour later. This is why bad people, in one sense, know very little about badness. They’ve always lived in a sheltered life by giving in. We never find out the strength of the evil impulse inside of us until we stay to fight it, and Christ, because he was the only man who never yielded to temptation, is also the only man who knows the fullness of  what temptation really means.”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(I think C.S. Lewis said that)

 

Well, this week has been pretty fun. I hope you guys know that living in Magdalena is really cool because it’s safe, but it’s also really hard because everything is so expensive… haha Hermana Capps and I have been out of money for like a week now and we’ve just been living off of some strawberry yogurt that we’ve bought for breakfast and for dinner. Yum! It’s weird, people don’t give us as much food here as they did in my other sectors, so we’re actually hungry by the end of the day. I’m not complaining though! It’s nice having food agency again. I think I’ve already lost about 4 pounds though in my time here.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Makin real deal tamales at our pensionista’s house)

 

I’m really excited to announce to you guys that Ester (my first baptism from Jesus Maria) is planning on getting sealed to her husband in October!!! Isn’t that amazing?? I can’t believe it! When I found out, I was just jumping up and down I was so happy. They are the BEST! And the cool thing is that I’ll be able to go with them and be present for the sealing and I think that I can go to the endowment too. I’m so happy for them. When Suqui and I started teaching them, Ester was just an investigator and her husband José was an inactive member. But over these 14 months, everything has just turned around, and José is completely active and the assistant to the ward mission leader! What a blessing. They’ve been taking their temple classes and everything is ready to go. YAY!!!! I can’t tell you guys how worried I was because I thought that all of my converts had gone inactive. It’s a dream come true! Go Ester and José!

 

This week we’ve been in meetings every day. We’ve been to a few more wards, training missionaries. We also had a special meeting with the president and the asesores where we discussed this new plans about family history work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

IMG_2196 IMG_2197 IMG_2202 IMG_2203 IMG_2205

On Wednesday, we visited the Maranga missionary zone meeting and I got to spend an hour with Hermana Zumba! It was fun. We had our mission Women’s conference on Friday which was like a really fun meeting for all of us sisters. They had each sister Training Leader lead a little discussion and it was really spiritual. Then on Saturday we had the general women’s meeting and it was so incredible. Yesterday we were in Limatambo again in a presentation for the leaders and missionaries with the asesores. I saw a lot of my old friends from Barranco and even got to talk to Marcela for a minute! It was great!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

(Trying to take a picture of the photo that they took at the mission women’s conference — all of the Perú Lima Central sisters! (And President))

 

Even though we’ve been really busy this week, it’s been a little hard. Poor H’Capps has been really sick for so long and we’re going to have to go to the doctor this week. We have a lot of stress about balancing our callings between the ward, our area and investigators, our calling as sister training leaders and also the family history deal. It’s not an easy job at all. And on top of that, being sick and out of money… Ay ay ay! (As mom says.)

 

It’s a very much needed P-day today……. sigh…

 

 

BUT next week will be fun too!

 

I love you guys so much and I hope that you’re doing well!

 

Not to be trunky, but I’ll see you soon!!! haha

 

TAKE CARE!

 

Love, Hermana Hollberg

IMG_2163 IMG_2164 IMG_2169

Photos with our new Inca Kola shirts (so worth it)

Our pensionista’s crazy dog that always steals my food, Vanilla (they say vai-NEE-la) it’s supposed to be in English but with a Spanish accent

IMG_2179 IMG_2181

In front of a ward on the corner of Tacna and Emancipacion in central Lima. It’s the funniest little building… I think it’s actually a stake center. Doing more family history there

IMG_2171

Walking out to go teach one morning, and we found out that our landlords have had a wild turtle hanging out there in their garden the WHOLE TIME

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Doing family history with some elders from the Rimac stake

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Hermana Capps helping out by cleaning a roof

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A cool recycling relief society craft project in the Maranga stake (those necklaces are made out of soda bottles!)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

