Él es la Dádiva / He is the Gift‏

Water Balloons for Pday today!

Water Balloons for Pday today!

Ok, so we’re going to start things super didactically today. We’re going to use our imaginations. Ok, picture someone taking a live frog, knocking it on a table really quickly to kill it, taking off it’s skin, throwing it in some boiling water for a minute, then tossing it into a blender with some milk, honey, maca….. and then drinking it! It’s supposedly really healthy!!!!! Well…. seeing as this is my last month and how I’ve gotta go hard and leave everything in the court here in Perú… Hermana Choque and I HAD to dare each other to try it. I sure love that girl so much. We have so much fun together. And guess what?? The extract was REALLY GROSS!!! But hey I did it and I finished it all and now I can cross it off of my bucket list. So there!!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

So I’m sure that you have all heard about the lovely He is the Gift campaign — it’s a huge way of spreading Christmas cheer to the whole world by reminding us about the true reason behind Christmas. It’s all centered around this absolutely beautiful small video that the church made, which can be found at navidad.mormon.org or at christmas.mormon.org. Spoiler alert: It’s a tear-jerker. As missionaries, the church is having us work really hard about sharing it with just about everyone that we can. Hermana Choque and I got really into it and we filled the family history center with the contact cards, and even put some more on the window in our apartment, for all of the people who pass by! I really invite all of you folks out there to watch it, or watch it again if you have already seen it, because it has such a great message about how we can really take the best out of this Christmas season. After all, He was the first gift that started it all. And the greatest gift. See John 3:16.

http://www.mormon.org/Christmas

 

A couple of weeks ago, I found out that two of my investigators back in San Silvestre got baptized!! I can’t tell you guys how HAPPY that has made me!!!! San Silvestre was probably the toughest sector out of my entire mission, and to hear that two of the people that we taught back there made the decision to get baptized…. that makes me SO HAPPY! One of them was this sweet little old man named Teofilo. He was baptized by Jesús, the recent-convert youth that Hermana Sanjines and I took to the temple for the first time back in the day with Martha. So great!! On Thursday, we had my last Mission Council, and we got to announce all of the achievements and numbers from the center! It was a lot of fun. We also got to hear about all of the fun plans for the mission Christmas party this year. It’s going to be a blast!

This week, it was our sweet pensionista Mayra’s birthday on Friday. We got up extra early to make her real-deal banana pancakes. It was awesome! I think I’m really getting the hang of making those things. Hermana Choque loved them too. Also, on Saturday, we got up early to make French toast because we had to have our meeting with our Mission Leader really early in the morning. In this ward, to gain trust, Hermana Choque and I have been taking the ”Ammon” Approach (or in other words, the service approach) and we’ve been having a lot of great success! If you can’t beat ’em, serve ’em! Things are getting better here every week.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At cambios, there were a ton of sectors that were closed because we’re losing a lot of missionaries at once. Especially sisters. In my group that’s going this transfer, there’s 19 of us. Sad enough, the sector that I opened in Barranco a year ago is closed now, so now there’s only Elders there. Crazy, right? :/

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With some more missionary friends. At cambios with Elder Castro, the last Assistant to the President who helped Hermana Capps and I out a ton.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Taking a picture with Elder Tonga — a football star from the University of Utah team!! He’s a cool kid.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With the old Mexico crew… minus Hermana Brudnicki.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With my Ecuadorian daughter, Hermana Zumba, and my new Colombian granddaughter, Hermana Linares!! Hermana Zumba is training again this transfer! She’s my second granddaughter.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Us with Elder Lemon!!! Shout out to the Lemon family!

Us with Elder Lemon!!! Shout out to the Lemon family!

Trunky Placas!! Everyone has these cool nametags for their last transfer that says the name of the mission and the time limits, but they messed up on mine and haven't sent it to me, so I got left out. but we still took a picture!

Trunky Placas!! Everyone has these cool nametags for their last transfer that says the name of the mission and the time limits, but they messed up on mine and haven’t sent it to me, so I got left out. but we still took a picture!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In the bus... Everything is really small here (Peruvian scale). Elder Dahlin finally found room to stand up straight on the bus by sticking his head in the fire escape thing.

In the bus… Everything is really small here (Peruvian scale). Elder Dahlin finally found room to stand up straight on the bus by sticking his head in the fire escape thing.

And finally…. speaking of cambios…. So on Tuesday I had to get up and bear my testimony in front of the whole mission with the other 18 missionaries, including Hermana Capps and Hermana Brudnicki. I was so nervous, I can’t even tell you guys. I had no idea what to say. For a lot of people, they get really emotional in their final testimony. There is a good amount of crying at change meetings, usually, to be honest. I’m not a crier or anything but I was still a little nervous about caving under pressure. But in the end, above all, I just prayed that something that I shared would help someone else who was there. Sometimes, in the last testimony, missionaries talk about their companions or about their life story, or they just keep it really short and stick to the basics. Every testimony is so unique — I guess that you could say that there aren’t two that are alike. What I decided to do in the end was bear a testimony about the big lesson that I’ve learned from each one of my sectors. Guys, mission presidents really do receive revelation for their missionaries. It’s so true. I have loved each one of my wards so much and I feel like I have learned a huge, everlasting, impactful lesson from each one of them. I’m out of time but to briefly share with you my recap:

 

  1. Pueblo Libre (Jesús María) — I learned and can bear testimony that the grace of the Savior is real. He expects that we constantly try our best—-not that we are instantly and absolutely perfect. The grace of God isn’t a motor that kicks in when we’ve done all that we can, but rather the motor that is constantly moving us to reach our goals.
  2. Barranco — I learned and can bear testimony that sometimes Heavenly Father has to take away everything that we’ve known and everyone that we’ve ever met, so that we can really get to know HIM. I learned that above all, we have a divine nature that nobody can change or take away, and that our life’s greatest work is ourselves.
  3. San Silvestre — I learned and can bear testimony that the promises that Heavenly Father makes to us will ALWAYS be fulfilled. You must always have faith, hope charity—they are the greatest requisites for this work. Those three attributes of the Lord will be the fuel that will keep us working and working and working through all of the dark times, until we find that moment that is precious and sweet above all others, when we reach our goal and find the reward that our loving Father in Heaven has prepared for us.
  4. From Magdalena and Las Brisas — I learned, maybe as the greatest lesson of all, that the hard things in this life really are for our good. Sometimes as youth, and even as missionaries, we think that we’ve learned it all and that we’ve already reached our potential; that the rest of our life is just going to be cotton candy because we’ve already figured it all out. But the truth is that we’re just at the front door of our life. We know that hard things are going to come our way. Harder than we can probably imagine. But one of the beautiful things about serving a mission is that it gives us that chance and that testimony that in the end, we really can look back at those moments that were hardest of all and we can see how far that we have come, thanks to them. I know that these experiences and these testimonies are going to be the ones that help us have a strong foundation for the many more beautiful and maybe sad things that we will have to face in this life.

Well, I really have to go now, but I just want you guys to know how much I really do love you and appreciate you. You guys are the best family in the world. And for those of you friends out there, thank you so much for the support too! It means a lot to me. I hope you all have a great week!! Take care!!!!

Love,

Hermana Hollberg

Eating a really delicious dish from Tumbes, where my pensionista grew up! Mussels.. that's what they're called, right? Seeing as Bolivia doesn't have any ocean, it was the first time that my companion had ever tried this kind of dish.

Eating a really delicious dish from Tumbes, where my pensionista grew up! Mussels.. that’s what they’re called, right? Seeing as Bolivia doesn’t have any ocean, it was the first time that my companion had ever tried this kind of dish.

 

 Opening up a real, fresh coconut and drinking the juice. It's actually really really strong! It's way better diluted.


Opening up a real, fresh coconut and drinking the juice. It’s actually really really strong! It’s way better diluted.

Going to see the son of our mission leader again -- baby Jeremy!

Going to see the son of our mission leader again — baby Jeremy!

The Elders playing foosball with a little LIME they found who-knows-where. Actually it's not surprising to find limes everywhere here in Perú!

The Elders playing foosball with a little LIME they found who-knows-where. Actually it’s not surprising to find limes everywhere here in Perú!

 

Family History  baptismal font room, which we decorated. We were in charge of getting it all ready to teach all of the non-members who came.

Family History baptismal font room, which we decorated. We were in charge of getting it all ready to teach all of the non-members who came.

Elders contacting people in the street to invite them to the fair!

Elders contacting people in the street to invite them to the fair!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

The Family History Fair on Saturday!

The Family History Fair on Saturday!

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

I straightened Hermana Choque's hair and it's reallllllllly longggggg... she has the most hair out of anyone that I have ever known! I don't know what her secret is! It's like flipping Tangled, the movie, or something

I straightened Hermana Choque’s hair and it’s reallllllllly longggggg… she has the most hair out of anyone that I have ever known! I don’t know what her secret is! It’s like flipping Tangled, the movie, or something

Yesterday we took this little man in a wheelchair out to the park as a service project, and we talked to him for a while to cheer him up, and then these really beautiful birds flew down and were right in front of us in the grass! Hermana Choque snapped a few pictures.

Yesterday we took this little man in a wheelchair out to the park as a service project, and we talked to him for a while to cheer him up, and then these really beautiful birds flew down and were right in front of us in the grass! Hermana Choque snapped a few pictures.

Family night last night with the Cheffer family!!! They're the best! Playing games about unity.

Family night last night with the Cheffer family!!! They’re the best! Playing games about unity.

SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES SAMSUNG CAMERA PICTURES

One response

  1. Hannah! I went to tithing settlement tonight and found out that our new 1st counselor in the bishopric’s parents are the mission presidents in your mission! Pres. and Sis. Borg, right? Their son, Marty Borg, is our new 1st counselor. Small world! Love reading your blog each week — I’ll be kinda sad when you’re not writing it anymore (very soon)! Keep up the great work — finish strong! Love, Michele Earlewine

LEAVE SOME LOVE <3

